X
    Categories: A & EEventsInstagramMusic

Red Butte 2018 Summer Concert Series Announced

The Red Butte Garden Summer Concert Series lineup is here!

Gather up your picnic baskets and plastic wine glasses, everyone. The surest sign that our long winter nightmare has come and gone is today—everyone’s favorite summer concert venue has released its summer line-up.

The season kicks off on May 23, with newgrass (new bluegrass, obviously) billing of The Devil Makes Three with The Wood Brothers and Murder by Death, and ends on September 17 with ’80s rocker Billy Idol. In between, concert-goers will experience everything from two separate ’80s throwback concerts (Belinda Carlile, Modern English and handful of others on July 20 and Flock of Seagulls, Wang Chung and more on July 20) to Red Butte perennial favorites Michael Franti and Spearhead (June 27) and Ben Harper (August 5).

There is some good news on the lineup. Ryan Adams returns (June 12), ever-charming crooner Chris Issak (June 27) and the Avett Brothers (July 3). Later-in-the-season highlights include Indigo Girls (August 21), a New Orleans-style evening with Trombone Shorty, Galactic, Kermit Ruffins and Preservation Hall Jazz Band all sharing the stage (September 12), and indie rockers Death Cab for Cutie (August 12).

Remember that Red Butte is BYOB and unless you’ve scored sponsor tickets (you lucky duck), all seating is general admission.

Full list of shows is below and at here. Tickets go on sale to Red Butte Garden members on Monday April 23 (tickets for the first show are available now), and for the general public on April 30 and there are more details at this link.

Wednesday, May 23 The Devil Makes Three with The Wood Brothers & Murder By Death
Tuesday, June 12 Ryan Adams
Wednesday, June 13 Violent Femmes with Ava Mendoza
Monday, June 18 Barenaked Ladies / Better Than Ezra / KT Tunstall
Tuesday, June 19 Dispatch with Nahko & Medicine for the People
Wednesday, June 27 Michael Franti & Spearhead with Dustin Thomas & Victoria Canal
Tuesday, July 3 The Avett Brothers with Jill Andrews
Friday, July 13 Sheryl Crow with Caitlyn Smith
Monday, July 16 Counting Crows
Thursday, July 19 Jackson Browne
Friday, July 20 Belinda Carlisle / ABC / Modern English, The Outfield’s Tony Lewis / Kajagoogoo’s Limahl / Bow Wow Wow’s Annabella
Wednesday, July 25 TajMo Band with Alicia Michilli
Thursday, July 26 Chris Isaak
Tuesday, July 31 Big Head Todd and the Monsters / Toad the Wet Sprocket
Wednesday, August 1 Utah Symphony
Thursday, August 2 Death Cab for Cutie
Sunday, August 5 Ben Harper & Charlie Musslewhite
Tuesday, August 7 Greensky Bluegrass
Thursday, August 9 A Flock of Seagulls / Wang Chung / Farrington & Mann original vocalists of When In Rome UK / Men Without Hats
Friday, August 10 Angelique Kidjo / Femi Kuti
Monday, August 13 Brandi Carlile with The Secret Sisters
Wednesday, August 15 Huey Lewis & the News
Thursday, August 16 Gipsy Kings
Tuesday, August 21 Indigo Girls
Friday, August 24 Shakey Graves / José González & The Brite Lites
Tuesday, September 4 Gary Clark Jr.
Monday, September 10 O.A.R. – Just Like Paradise Tour with Matt Nathanson
Wednesday, September 12 Trombone Shorty’s Voodoo Threauxdown/Galactic / Preservation Hall Jazz Band / New Breed Brass Band with
special guests Cyril Neville, Kermit Ruffins & Walter Wolfman Washington
Sunday, September 16 Rodrigo y Gabriela
Monday, September 17 Billy Idol

Christie Marcy :Christie Marcy is the managing editor at Salt Lake magazine. Though she writes about everything, she has a particular interest in arts and culture in Utah. In the summer months you will find her at any given outdoor concert on any given night. In the winter, you will find her wishing for summer. Follow her on social media at @whynotboth.